I’m Still Here!

I’ve been busy since getting back from Chicago. The woven scarf has not been done because just as I was about to warp the loom, a friend said, “why don’t you knit it this way?” It was such a good idea that I stopped to think about it and it has not had any forward momentum since.

In the meantime, I have worked on my puppets – details in the Knit Puppets and More blog – http://www.knitpuppets.wordpress.com. And, I have finally gotten back to my spinning wheel. Gale Evans – http://www.galesart.blogspot.com – gave me some beautiful silk roving she had dyed to spin and that is what is on the wheel now. I have so many spinning projects to do that my wheel should keep me busy for awhile.

UFOs: YIKES! I have been organizing – yes, still – my studio and have found about a bazillion UFOs! These are now being placed in specially designated tubs so I can work through them methodically. I made myself stop and think why each of them is still a UFO. I found some that simply got put aside when a more pressing project came to the fore. The ones that bother me, though, are the ones that got side-tracked because I showed the project to someone who said something like: “If I were doing it, I wouldn’t use that yarn-stitch-needle size – whatever.” or “Instead of doing it that way, why not do it like this?” And then the project stopped, not because I was thinking how to incorporate the suggestions into my piece, but because I lost confidence in my original idea, even though I thought it was a good one. I didn’t want to continue with MY idea, because I thought it might offend the suggestor. Okay, I need to get over myself! If I have an idea I think is good, I need to simply say, “Thank you for sharing” to the other person and carry on doing what I was doing to begin with. Sometimes people have good suggestions, but sometimes it is not what I want. So now there is another decision: do I not show my projects to anyone until they are finished or do I learn to say “thanks for sharing”. Or both. I think I need to get a thicker skin and stop worrying about others if I think my idea is a good one to begin with. Easier said than done.

In the meantime, I will continue chipping away at my UFO pile. Do y’all have this big of a UFO pile? I mean, seriously, there have to be more than 20 UFOs I have found “so far”. Let me know how big your UFO pile is.

5 Comments

  1. joyknits said,

    September 2, 2008 at 6:10 pm

    *MY* suggestion ;) would be to thank whomever, then go ahead with your idea, unless any of the suggestions actually work for you. To quote EZ, “you’re in control of your knitting” – hang in there!

    As to UFO’s I’m not sure I even want to know …

  2. September 2, 2008 at 6:23 pm

    Thanks, Joy! It is funny that I am constantly telling my knitting students, “YOU are in control!”, but when it comes to myself, I forget!

    Continuing on with the studio organizing and anxiously anticipating more UFOs jumping out at me!

  3. Janet Yost said,

    September 19, 2008 at 6:22 pm

    M,
    I have to wonder how many times you would have liked to tell me “thank you for sharing”!
    J

  4. September 19, 2008 at 7:52 pm

    Trust me, Janet, you are not on my “thank you for sharing list”. You are SOOO creative and always have great ideas! Keep ‘em comin’!

  5. November 2, 2008 at 10:58 pm

    oh, man, it must have been me! I think I remember saying it too.

    But then you thanked me, and if figured you’d do it your way anyway! So…have you done it yet?


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

